Premio New York


In collaboration with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Italian Institute of Culture in New York, the Italian Academy for Advanced Studies in America, the Prize encourages the talent of young artists through a stay in the Big Apple.


Premio New York (New York Prize): The winners of the 17th edition

Ruth Beraha (Milan 1986) and Agostino Iacurci (Foggia 1986) are the two young Italian artists that have won the 16th edition of the Premio New York (New York Prize). Both will have the opportunity to expand their creative skills through direct experience with the cultural and artistic scene during a 6-month stay in the USA. During this time they will have the chance to participate in the cultural activities organized by the Italian Cultural Institute in New York and by the Italian Academy, as well as they can attend, as auditors, some classes at Columbia University in art history, film theory, visual arts and architecture. At the end of the stay, the artists will organize an exhibition of their works at the exhibition spaces of the International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP) in Brooklyn.


The jury of the Premio New York is chaired by Paolo Barlera, Regent Director of the Italian Cultural Institute of New York and is composed of Cecilia Alemani, High Line Art New York; Stella Bottai, Independent Curator; Allison Jeffrey, Italian Academy, Columbia University New York; Susan Hapgood, International Studio & Curatorial Programs, New York; Brett Littman, Noguchi Museum, New York.

Premio New York (New York Prize) is promoted by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation – Directorate-General for Cultural and Economic Promotion and Innovation, the Italian Cultural Institute of New York, the Italian Academy for Advanced Studies in America and by the Ministry of Cultural Heritage and Activities and Tourism – Directorate-General for Contemporary Creativity.
Follow us: